Sharing sequences

Sharing sequences allows others to view a read only version of your sequence and import a copy into their own account.

Sharing a sequence

This section covers how to share a sequence.

Sharing a sequence

To share a sequence, navigate to the edit sequence page and click the share sequence button at the bottom of the page.

The first time you share a sequence you will be prompted to enter a display name. This is so the sequence can be credited to you. You can change your display name at any time from the user settings.

Another user can view and import the sequence by sharing the edit sequence URL with them. Your sequence will also appear on the shared sequences page.

Private information

Certain information will be removed from the shared sequence for security reasons and to protect your privacy. The following steps will be modified:

  • Custom webhook call - the webhook URL will be removed
  • Custom webhook trigger - your private key will be removed
  • IFTTT webhook trigger - your private key will be removed
  • Daylight - your latitude and longitude co-ordinates will not be shared
  • After dark - your latitude and longitude co-ordinates will not be shared
  • Call another sequence - your sequence name will be shown when previewing the sequence, however this sequence will not be shared with the other user (they will need to create their own sequence to be called)

Stop sharing a sequence

To stop sharing a sequence, navigate to the edit sequence page and click the stop sharing button at the bottom of the page.

Other users will not be able to view or import the sequence, however if the sequence has been imported by another user their copy of the sequence will not be removed.

Edit a shared sequence

To modify a shared sequence, simply modify the original sequence. Any changes you make to your sequence will be reflected immediately in the shared sequence.

Deleting a shared sequence

If you wish to permanently delete a shared sequence, simply delete the sequence as you would normally. The sequence will be removed from your sequence list and it will no longer be available for others to view or import.

If you simply wish to stop sharing the sequence but continue using it yourself, navigate to the edit sequence page and click the stop sharing button at the bottom of the page.

Importing a shared sequence

You can find shared sequences on the shared sequences page.

To import a shared sequence, view the shared sequence and click the import sequence button at the bottom of the page. The sequence will be copied into your account.

The sequence will be disabled by default and your version of the sequence will not be shared.

You will need to edit some steps in order for the sequence to work in your account. Steps which will require updating are:

The following steps may need updating depending on how the original sequence was created and your account is set up:

Still need help? Ask a question on our Q&A site.